Browser Showdown Pt. 3

15 01 2010

Here we are. This is my third and final post in my Browser Showdown series. So, where do we stand. Well, in my first post, we found that Google Chrome is, by far, the fastest browser. In my second post there was no real clear winner, since it was mostly a matter of what you needed from the browser. Today, I’m hoping to have a clear winner again. So, without further delay, here it is:

Going first today, we’ll have Safari. Safari is the browser that I have the least experience with, as I’ve said, so I can’t attest to much personally, but it is a very minimalistic browser, which keeps it very easy to use for new users. I have a friend that has assured me that Safari is extremely easy to use. He didn’t really have a reason, but I’m sure that due to it’s minimalism it’s very easy to use. On a scale of 1 to 10, I think Safari would score an 8, although I can’t say for sure, since I don’t use it that often.

Next we’ll take a look at Firefox. I recently found an article that rants on Firefox’s accessibility. It’s main point is that if you take an option off the menu that you don’t need for now, you can’t put it back on without the help of an IT expert. However, this applies to many things in Firefox. It’s built for the more advanced user, and if you’re just starting out you might have a really tough time figuring out anything for Firefox besides the basic functions. On a scale of 1 to 10, I think Firefox would probably come out at about a 4.

Now Google Chrome. This is another very minimalistic browser, but it has some extra features that explain what things will do. For example, when you first turn on the browser, it comes up to a page explaining about the things that make Chrome unique, and has a link to the themes gallery. Also, the new tab page makes it much easier to find where you are trying to go, assuming you go there fairly often, because your most visited sites are all right there. The special URL / search bar also makes for less confusion at the top of the browser. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give Chrome a 9.

Last, but not least, is IE. It’s not particularly minimalistic, however, it has some features that make it easier to use, such as it’s accelerators. However, most of this is balanced out by the fact that it takes a while to be able to figure out your way around the clunky user interface with ease. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give IE about a 6 I think.

Anyway, where does that leave us? Well, it would seem that Chrome has won, being the fastest and most user-friendly browser, with a lot of useful features. Safari is pretty close behind, also very fast and easy to use, but without as many features. Then there’s Firefox. It was fast, but not quite as fast as Safari or Chrome, and had a lot of features, but was very user-unfriendly. And pulling up last is IE. While still a pretty good browser, it’s extremely slow compared to the other browsers today, and takes a while to get used to, although it does have a lot of features and is compatible with most things on the web. Speed — or lack thereof — is what killed IE in this contest.

Thanks for reading, and I hope this helped. That concludes this series of blog posts

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 01 2010
literacy9

I LOVE this series, its asoweme, I need to know were I can get Chrome for my home laptop, we have IE and it SUCKS.
RTN

15 01 2010
literacy9

Honestly I like Safari. Because I hate Firefox. And at home I dont have Google Chrome. We just have IE. WHICH IS HORRIBLE. Due to your wonderful blog Chas, I might download Google Chrome for my Mini Laptop at my Dad’s house. Thanks for the lowdown bub. =]
~* Teejay!

15 01 2010
literacy9

wait… so you made all these posts about which is best? But which is your favorite? perhaps not the same as best…
-HP

15 01 2010
literacy9

My favorite is Chrome. Because it’s amazing! ^_^

15 01 2010
literacy9

“Interesting…” said a voice from someplace.

(That was the one word I could think of and I didn’t want to leave just a one word comment since that is wicked annoying)

-g

Leave a Reply

